Aaron Nielson

Prof. Aaron Nielson

Professor of Law, Brigham Young University Law School

Professor Nielson teaches and writes in the areas of administrative law, civil procedure, federal courts, and antitrust. His publications have appeared (or will appear) in journals such as the University of Chicago Law Review, Georgetown Law Journal, Emory Law Journal, Southern California Law Review, Georgia Law Review, and Ohio State Law Journal. He currently co-chairs the Rulemaking Committee of the American Bar Association’s Section of Administrative Law & Regulatory Practice.  Previously he chaired the Section's Antitrust & Trade Regulation Committee.  Professor Nielson is a permanent commentator at the Yale Journal on Regulation's Notice & Comment blog where each week he reviews all published decisions of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit.  His analysis of D.C. Circuit opinions has been discussed in the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Bloomberg, and Law360. 

Before joining the faculty, Professor Nielson was a partner in the Washington, D.C. office of Kirkland & Ellis LLP. He also has served as a law clerk to Justice Samuel A. Alito, Jr. of the U.S. Supreme Court, Judge Janice Rogers Brown of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit, and Judge Jerry E. Smith of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.

Professor Nielson received his J.D. from Harvard Law School. Following graduation, he was awarded a Harvard Law School Post-Graduate Research Fellowship. Professor Nielson also received an LL.M from the University of Cambridge, where he focused his studies on the institutions that regulate global competition and commerce. He received his undergraduate degree from the University of Pennsylvania, majoring in economics and political science.

  • JD from Harvard law School. Class of 2007.
    magna cum laude, National Editor - Harvard Journal of Law and Public Policy
  • LLM from University of Cambridge Faculty of Law. Class of 2006.
    First Class Honors, Bateman Scholar of Trinity Hall
  • BA from University of Pennsylvania. Class of 2003.
    summa cum laude, Robert Holtz memorial Prize as Most Outstanding Political Science Graduate, John Hope Franklin & Henry Louis Gates, Jr. Awards, W.E.B. Du Bois College House


A person listed as a contributor has spoken or otherwise participated in Federalist Society events, publications, or multimedia presentations. A person's appearance on this list does not imply any other endorsement or relationship between the person and the Federalist Society. In most cases, the biographical information on a person's "contributor" page is provided directly by the person, and the Federalist Society does not edit or otherwise endorse that information. The Federalist Society takes no position on particular legal or public policy issues. All expressions of opinion by a contributor are those of the contributor.