Elizabeth Kregor

Prof. Elizabeth Kregor

Lecturer in Law and Director of The Institute for Justice Clinic, University of Chicago Law School

Elizabeth Kregor received her BA magna cum laude in comparative literature from Yale University. She attended law school at the University of Michigan, where she served as managing editor of the Michigan Law Review. After graduating magna cum laude, Ms. Kregor clerked for the Hon. Bruce M. Selya on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit.

Ms. Kregor practiced law with Sidley Austin Brown & Wood for several years, with a focus on intellectual property litigation. In the fall of 2003, she joined the IJ Clinic on Entrepreneurship. As director, she supervises students in the representation of lower- to middle-income entrepreneurs in the inner city. She is expanding the clinic's practice in the field of intellectual property law.

The University of Michigan Law School
JD, magna cum laude, May 1999

  • Clarence Darrow Scholar - three-year, full-tuition merit scholarship
  • Certificate of Merit awards in torts and unjust enrichment courses
  • Order of the Coif
  • Staff and managing editor, Michigan Law Review

Yale University
BA, magna cum laude in comparative literature, May 1996

  • Phi Beta Kappa
  • Hajo Holborn Prize - for the best undergraduate essay on a topic in German public affairs
  • Bianca Maria Calabresi Prize - for the best Senior Essay in Comparative Literature


A person listed as a contributor has spoken or otherwise participated in Federalist Society events, publications, or multimedia presentations. A person's appearance on this list does not imply any other endorsement or relationship between the person and the Federalist Society. In most cases, the biographical information on a person's "contributor" page is provided directly by the person, and the Federalist Society does not edit or otherwise endorse that information. The Federalist Society takes no position on particular legal or public policy issues. All expressions of opinion by a contributor are those of the contributor.