2009 Bradley Prize

April 28, 2009

Yesterday, the Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation announced that on June 3 it will be awarding one of its four coveted Bradley Prizes to the Federalist Society's Founding Directors  and leaders “for their ingenuity in forming and nurturing an organization dedicated to preserving the rule of law,” according to Bradley President Michael Grebe. Receiving this award from the Bradley Foundation is a great honor, given everything the Foundation has done since its inception to promote the principles of liberty and responsibility central to a free society.

Although we are gratified to receive this public recognition, we wanted to share this news with all of you immediately, as it is your efforts, as well as those of all our volunteers, students, lawyers,  faculty, and donors that have been the backbone of the Society over the years.  Therefore in a real sense this recognition belongs to all of you.  View The Bradley Foundation Press Release below.


Bradley Foundation title bar

Founders and leaders of Federalist Society to receive a 2009 Bradley Prize

The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation in Milwaukee has announced that one of four 2009 Bradley Prizes will be awarded to The Federalist Society for Law and Public Policy Studies.  Accepting the award on behalf of the Society will be its founders and leaders.

The Federalist Society was founded in 1982 by Spencer Abraham, Steven G. Calabresi, David McIntosh, and Lee Liberman Otis while they were law students.  Under the leadership of its president, Eugene B. Meyer, and executive vice president, Leonard Leo, the Society has since expanded into a nationally prominent legal institution.

The award will be presented during a ceremony to be held at The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C., on Wednesday, June 3.  The award carries a stipend of $250,000.

"The Bradley Foundation selected the founders and leaders of the Federalist Society for their ingenuity in forming and nurturing an organization dedicated to preserving rule of law," said Michael W. Grebe, the Foundation's president and chief executive officer.  "The Federalist Society has become a vital resource in American legal education."

With more than 40,000 members, the Federalist Society includes a student chapter at each of the more than 200 law schools accredited by the American Bar Association and a lawyers chapter in 70 major cities.

"Through the Bradley Prizes, we recognize individuals like the founders and leaders of the Federalist Society who have made outstanding contributions, in hopes that others will strive for excellence in their respective fields," Grebe said.

For the list of Bradley Prize recipients, click HERE.