Christopher Toth

Christopher Toth

Former Executive Director, National Association of Attorneys General

Chris Toth retired as executive director of the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) in June 2022 after serving in this role since December 2017. He previously served as the organization’s deputy executive director from February 2004. Chris supervised support for NAAG committees in the areas of antitrust, consumer protection, criminal law, cyberspace law, and energy and environment, among others. He also supervised the NAAG Center for Tobacco and Public Health, which coordinates enforcement of the 1998 Master Settlement Agreement between the major tobacco manufacturers and 46 states, the Center for Supreme Court Advocacy, which prepares state attorneys to argue before the U.S. Supreme Court, and the Center for Public Integrity. Chris also helped found and served as director of the National Attorneys General Training and Research Institute (NAGTRI), a NAAG branch, from its 2007 inception until December 2017. In addition to serving on the NAGTRI faculty, Chris has served as a faculty member for the National District Attorneys Association.

Prior to joining NAAG, Chris was elected and served as the prosecuting attorney in St. Joseph County (South Bend), Indiana. As prosecuting attorney Chris initiated numerous innovative programs in the areas of community prosecution, cold-case investigations, DUI prevention, and domestic violence prevention. He also previously served as deputy prosecuting attorney and in private legal practice. 

Chris attended Naval Aviation Officer Candidate School and received his commission as an ensign in the U.S. Navy. He served several tours on active duty in the Navy, including deployments on the aircraft carrier USS John F. Kennedy and on the staff of the U.S. Naval Forces Europe Commander in London, England, before attending law school. Following law school, Chris served as an NCIS agent (through the Navy Reserves). 

In addition to serving as a naval officer on both active duty and the reserves, Chris served both on active duty and in the reserves as an Army officer, retiring from the Army Reserve in 2011. He was deployed multiple times during his career, including to Bosnia, Kuwait, and Iraq. His assignments included serving as the commander of a unit that conducted missions against indicted war criminals and in support of the Global War on Terrorism in Bosnia, and as the commander of the provincial reconstruction team military detachment in Diwaniyah Province, Iraq. His military awards include the Bronze Star for Service, Defense Meritorious Service Medal, Combat Action Badge, Army Airborne Parachutist Badge, Army Commendation Medal, Navy Achievement Medal, as well as various expeditionary, unit, and service awards.

Chris recently concluded an eight year term on the executive committee of the International Association of Prosecutors and became the first American to serve as the organization’s vice president in 2020. He is a Master Gardener and Master Naturalist and participates in community volunteer efforts to teach sound ecological and sustainable practices. He is also an alumnus of the American Council of Young Political Leaders, having served as a delegate with the 2002 delegation to Taiwan and the senior delegate with the 2008 delegation to Turkey with this bipartisan, U.S. State Department sponsored organization. He is also a beekeeper and an avid runner, having completed twelve marathons.


A person listed as a contributor has spoken or otherwise participated in Federalist Society events, publications, or multimedia presentations. A person's appearance on this list does not imply any other endorsement or relationship between the person and the Federalist Society. In most cases, the biographical information on a person's "contributor" page is provided directly by the person, and the Federalist Society does not edit or otherwise endorse that information. The Federalist Society takes no position on particular legal or public policy issues. All expressions of opinion by a contributor are those of the contributor.