Call for Papers -- 2021 Federalist Society Annual Faculty Conference

Faculty Division

The 2021 Federalist Society Annual Faculty Conference will be held virtually January 7-8, 2021. The conference will take place remotely via webinar. 

Below, please find our Annual Call for Papers, as well as a note about AALS "Hot Topics":

(1) Works in Progress: We invite all faculty to submit Works in Progress to be considered for presentation during seven-minute time slots at one or more sessions set aside during the conference for this purpose.

(2) Young Legal Scholars Paper Competition: We invite paper submissions for the Young Legal Scholars Paper Competition, limited to unpublished papers by junior faculty members who have been in tenure-track positions for no more than 7 years. Young scholars who have not yet obtained their first academic appointments are also welcome to submit papers for consideration. These papers will be competitively selected and presented on a special panel. Each winner will have 12 minutes to present his or her paper and will receive a prize of $1,500. (Co-authored submissions will be accepted if both authors satisfy the above-stated junior faculty criteria, but co-authors must share a single prize). Distinguished senior scholars will also offer commentary on the winning papers.

(Also note)  AALS Hot Topics: To add to the diversity of viewpoints on AALS' own panels, we encourage faculty to consider submitting "Hot Topic" proposals to AALS. More details on such proposals, which are due to AALS by October 18, can be found here:

SUBMISSION PROCEDURES (for Works in Progress and Young Legal Scholar Paper Competition submissions):

If you are interested in presenting a Work in Progress or entering the Young Legal Scholars Paper Competition, please email your paper to by Friday, September 18, 2020, using the subject line "Faculty Conference Paper" and noting the category(ies) of presentation for which you are submitting. (If you are submitting for a work in progress slot, an abstract is sufficient). Winners will be notified in September.